The 2021 Edwin Booth Award Honoring Diana Taylor

Since she co-founded the Institute for Women and Social Change (1993), to the Institute for Performance and Politics (1995), to the Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics (1998), Diana Taylor has dedicated her career to bringing artists, activists, scholars, and students together to discuss and act on the urgent social issues of our time. Scholarship, she argues in her books, is also a form of activism, an intervention that can channel the expertise and resources of universities to engage other communities of practice. What can we do, she asks, when apparently nothing can be done, and doing nothing is not an option? A lot.

Diana Taylor is University Professor and Professor of Performance Studies and Spanish at New York University. She is the award-winning author of multiple books, among them: Theatre of Crisis (1991), Disappearing Acts (1997), The Archive and the Repertoire (2003), Performance (2016), and ¡Presente! The Politics of Presence (2020). These last three books were written or translated into Spanish as well as other languages. ¡Presente! will come out early next year with Ediciones Universidad Alberto Hurtado later this year. Taylor was the Founding Director of the Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics from 1998 to 2000. She is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and several other major awards. In 2017, Taylor was President of the Modern Language Association. In 2018 she was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Science.

The Doctoral Theatre Students’ Association in collaboration with The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center presented the 2021 Edwin Booth Award: Diana Taylor livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at on Friday May 14 2021 at 9 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 11 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 12 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4).

The 2021 Booth Award is made possible by gracious support from: CUNY Doctoral Students’ Council Prof. Marvin Carlson, the Sidney E. Cohn Chair in Theatre Prof. Jean Graham-Jones, the Lucille Lortel Chair in Theatre Prof. David Savran, the Vera Mowry Roberts Chair in Theatre.

Conference organizers and site admins can delete the directions on this page and add their own information by clicking “edit page” above.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *